How to Log Out of Netflix on TV [Android & Google TV]

Netflix has different user profiles that lets different people on the same profile have their own recommendations and watch lists. However, there are times that you want to log out of Netflix and watch TV using a completely different profile.

Unfortunately, the Netflix app on Android TV and Google TV makes it really hard to sign out.

In this article, we’re going to cover two methods for signing out of Netflix so you can log in with a different profile.

The first method covers how to log out from within the app itself.

The second method covers how to clear your app’s data. That method is a bit more complicated, so definitely try to sign out from within the app first.

Ready?

Let’s get started.


How to Log Out of Netflix on TV: Through the App

The easiest way to log out of Netflix is through the app itself. However, Netflix doesn’t make it as simple as they should.

Intuitively, you’d think this would be in the Switch Profiles button in top left-hand corer of the screen. After all, this is where you can choose which user profile is watching at the time, and you can change the profile without closing and restarting the app.

That screen will let you change profiles, but not completely sign out of Netflix.

To log out of Netflix, you need to go down to the Get Help menu on the bottom of the left-side menu.

Netflix home screen, side menu

To get to the main menu, usually all you have to do is scroll all the way to the left until the menu pops out from the left-side of the screen. Occasionally, the app gets stuck and you won’t be able to access the menu directly.

To help, the developers included a cheat code to access the menu.

If you’re old enough to remember the Komani Code, then this should bring back memories: Press Up Up, Down Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, Up Up Up Up to access the Get Help menu from anywhere in the app.

Once the Get Help menu appears, scroll all the way down to the Sign Out option.

Netflix Get Help Menu

A confirmation page appears asking if you really want to sign out.

Once you confirm, your user data will be deleted from the Netflix app and you’ll need to go through the sign on process again.

Verify that you want to sign out of Netflix

I do like that Netflix doesn’t automatically close the app and make you go back to your app drawer and relaunch it. It immediately takes you back to the Sign In screen.

Now, just sign in with your account information and get back to watching Netflix!

Sign in when restarting Netflix

How to Log Out of Netflix on TV: Android TV Settings Menu

Sometimes, that process doesn’t work and you’ll need to manually log out of the Netflix app by deleting the app’s data from the Android Settings Menu.

To start, go to the Settings menu. I’m using the Chromecast with Google TV in the image below. The process is identical for older Android TV devices like the NVIDIA Shield, although the screens will look slightly different.

The Settings menu will look like a gear icon in the upper right-hand corner of the screen. Click on it to continue.

Google TV Settings menu

Next, scroll down to the Apps section of the settings menu. Click on it to continue.

Google TV: Apps settings

If the Netflix app icon appears in your Recently Opened Apps, like it does in the image below, you can click on it directly and skip a few steps.

If it doesn’t, click on See All Apps.

See All Apps settings menu

Next, scroll down to the Netflix app icon and click it to continue.

Netflix icon in All Apps heading

This pulls up the settings menu specifically for the Netflix app.

In this screen, we’re going to do two things: clear the cache, and clear the data.

Scroll down to Clear Cache and click it to continue.

Clear Cache on Netflix app

A new screen pops up asking you to confirm that you really want to clear the app cache.

Click OK to continue.

Verify Clear Cache

Finally, click on Clear Data.

Clear Data on Netflix app

This also pulls up a confirmation screen.

Click OK to continue.

Verify Clear Data

This deletes all of your user data from the Netflix app. The next time you launch it, it will be just like you’re opening the app for the first time.


Smart Lock for Passwords

Sometimes, clearing app data and app cache won’t work. The most common reason is because you have Smart Lock for Passwords enabled on your Google account.

Smart Lock for Passwords is a feature on Google TV and Android devices that links many popular accounts to your Google ID. It automatically populates certain accounts and saves you from having to type long, secure passwords on your streaming devices or phones.

Unfortunately, it also can automatically sign you back into your Netflix account, as you can see in the screen below.

If Smart Lock for Passwords is enabled, Netflix will log you back in automatically

To bypass this, you’ll need to either disable Smart Lock for Passwords on your Google account settings, or delete the Google account from your streaming device.

Tim Wells

Tim Wells got his first computer at the age of ten and hasn't stopped tinkering ever since. After discovering Android TV boxes in 2013, he created a popular Android PC Review website and guided it to over 8 million pageviews before stepping away in 2018. After a brief hiatus from the industry he's back at the helm of AndroidTVNews.com to bring Android TV and TV boxes to the forefront of the streaming world. When he's not writing, he spends as much time as he can with his beautiful wife and his bulldog.

Recent Posts